Amityville Nightmare

Amityville Horror House

One Friday evening in 2005, my husband and I were able to have a date night so we decided to go see the the newest version of Amityville Horror.  We were both quite excited since this was one of our first outings since we had our first born son, Paul, in February. Thankfully, my in-laws wanted to have their time with him and they decided to watch him so we could go.

I will say right now, I am not at all a horror aficionado.  However, my husband Jeremy is and he had read so much about the story surrounding the movie.  He had also seen the originals that had come out earlier.  He was quite excited, and I was glad to be getting out of the house.

We went into the theater and ordered a large popcorn and two medium drinks.  Inside the theater, it was a full house.  Luckily, we were early so we got seats at the top, because for us, those are the best ones.  Then the movie began.  I was scared and kept grabbing on to my husband, while he didn’t even flinch.  At one point, I almost screamed and he just smiled at me and said, “It is okay babe.”

After a couple of hours (that felt like an eternity for me), the movie was finally over.  All-in-all I was glad he liked it, and I was just glad to be out of the theater. Afterwards, we picked up our son Paul who was asleep and headed back to our apartment.

As I placed our son into his crib, I made sure to turn on his baby monitor, so we could hear him if he got up in the middle of the night.  Soon after, husband and I went to bed.  My husband was startled around 3:00 a.m. because he thought he heard our son on the monitor.

“Shh,” he said, “go back to bed.  I will get him.”

“Thanks babe,”  I answered.

Just then, we heard some laughter on the baby monitor.

“Hmm,” said my husband.

“What is it?”  I called out.

“Sylvia, Come quick!”

He only calls me Sylvia when it is something serious.  I tried not to panic.

As I quickly dashed into our son’s room, we both realized our son was still asleep.  However, we still could hear a baby laughing on the monitor.

“It is just like in the movie,” said my husband.

“What are you talking about?”  I answered, as I drank some water.

He then added, “Remember, when the father in the movie started getting possessed, the voices awoke him at 3:00 a.m. and all this strange stuff began to happen?”

“This is ridiculous,” I added, “purely coincidence!”

The next day, when we woke up, we were still in a state of panic over what had transpired on the baby monitor.  My husband looked so worn out from lack of sleep.  I made him go back to bed and get some rest.

Soon after, my good friend Marcy called me.  She was excited to know how my date night had gone.  “Oh, it was okay,” I said.  “But the strangest thing happened to us last night.”

“Oh?” she said in a curious tone.

I began to share the accounts of what had happened.  My friend Marcie broke out in laughter.

“What is so funny Marcie?”

“I’m sorry,” she explained.  “I don’t mean to laugh, but what you overheard last night was probably another person’s baby in the apartment nearest you!”  Then she added, “When Tony and I lived in our Condo, our baby monitors would pick up on other people’s feedback.”

After, she said that I let out a sigh of relief.  After my husband awoke from his nap, I began to tell him about what Marcy had mentioned.  He laughed.

“Well I am glad that is over,” he said.

Then I added, “I am just glad it wasn’t Amityville Nightmare after all!”

“You and me both!”  exclaimed my husband Jeremy.

______________________________________________________________________________

Sylvia SteinSylvia Stein is an aspiring writer who has written a suspenseful thriller entitled, Battered Mind.

She is married with three children and currently resides in North Carolina.

You find Sylvia at the following:
Twitter: @sylvia_stein07
Blog:  http://ssteinwriting.wordpress.com/ 
Facebook:  www.facebook.com/SylWriter07

6 thoughts on “Amityville Nightmare

  1. Joyce T. Strand

    Fun Halloween story. I can certainly relate. I still can’t reach and turn on a light because of the movie “Murders in the Rue Morgue” where the Gorilla grabbed a victim in that act.

    Reply
  2. Gemma Wilford

    I would have been really spooked if that was me in the middle of the night hearing a baby laughing on the monitor that wasn’t mine! I’m thankful for you that it was just feedback though. Good story.

    Reply

Rant here! (aka Leave a Reply)

