Just Drivin’

Does anyone remember those clothes “hampers” that were built into the wall?  It had two doors on the bottom that would swing out (to remove clothes) and a door above those other doors that would flip open (to insert clothes).  Those of you who grew up in the 70’s know what I’m talking about.  Those of you who didn’t, I’m sorry, you’ll just have to use your imagination.  I couldn’t even find a picture of one of those on Google, so just deal with it.

I think these hampers solely existed for small kids to play in or to be tortured by their siblings.  Luckily, I was an only child and my mother still sends a prayer of thanks for that small fact to this day.  But don’t think I didn’t play in it.

I used to climb in and pretend that I was driving.  Yes, driving.  Stop judging.  When you are the sole child in the house, you have to be creative.  It’s a necessity.

Anyway, my mom couldn’t find me, although she could hear me mumbling something.  As she got closer to the sound, she could finally hear:

Me:  Get outta tha way, you sumbitch!

Mom: …

Me (shifting gears in my “car”):  I said, Get outta tha way, you sumbitch!

Mom (opening the hamper):  What are you doing?

Me (startled):  I’m just driving like you, Momma!

5 thoughts on “Just Drivin’

  1. Lissa Elliott St.Clair

    I grew up in an old farm house on a farm and we didn’t have that but I sure did pretend I was driving with many and on many things! But my grandparents had a laundry chute so that was fun yelling into it and hearing the echo. Plus throwing a stuffed animal down it, running down into the basement, and living that I would find it (ta-da!). The simple things that entertained when we were growing up!

    Reply
  2. Vikki Claflin

    Gina (and Sylvia), this cracked me up! Whenever I’m posting ANYTHING that has the word “mom” in it, I have to call her and get a yay or nay. So far, I’m about 50/50! Thanks for the laugh!

    Reply

Rant here! (aka Leave a Reply)

